West Wallsend High School

We learn for life

Telephone02 4953 2111


Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.

Subject Selection Booklets

Details of elective subjects can be found in our Subject Selection Booklets. Students are emailed instructions and log in details to enter their subject preferences through our online platform 'Web Choices' when the portal opens.

Year 8 2023 Subject Selection Booklet

Year 9/10 2023/2024 Subject Selection Booklet

Year 11/12 2023/2024 Subject Selection Booklet