West Wallsend High School logo

West Wallsend High School

West Wallsend High School

We learn for life

Telephone02 4953 2111


Our staff

Get to know our school staff. We're all here to help.

The passion of the West Wallsend High School staff and their commitment to operating as a professional and unified team is one of the greatest strengths of West Wallsend High School. We are proud of the reputation we have developed for being a caring community who engage, support and challenge students to draw out their best and to instil a sense of pride in their achievements. Every child’s progress is important and our staff look for opportunities to encourage and support each child’s development.

Our professional, university-educated teachers encourage students to develop a love of learning and a desire to succeed. They maintain the highest integrity and concern for your child’s wellbeing.

The principal is responsible for the educational leadership and management of our school. If you would like to speak to the principal, please contact us to make an appointment.

Our school administrative staff can answer inquiries or direct you to the appropriate staff member for help.


Mrs Krystal Bevin (acting)

Deputy Principals

Mr Michael Chandler: Years 8, 10 and 12

Mr Paul Gauci: Years 7, 9 and 11

Head Teachers

English and drama: Mrs Jessica Somner (rel.)

Mathematics + languages other than English (LOTE): Mr Allan Burns

Science: Mr Mark Milat

Human society and its environment (HSIE): Mrs Jo-Anne Bailey (rel.)

Technological and applied studies (TAS): Mr Daniel Dawkins

Creative and performing arts (CAPA): Miss Tamara Turner (rel.)

Personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE): Mr Shayne Mason

Middle school and High potential and gifted education (HPGE): Ms Amy Blakemore 

Student individual learning support (SAIL): Mrs Allison Madden 

Student wellbeing: Mrs Sharon Jenness

Administration: Mrs Petula Lalor

Instructional Practice: Ms Lauren Holding

Year Advisors in 2021

Year 7

Mr Corey Bubb, email: Corey.Bubb@det.nsw.edu.au

Year 8  

Mr Andrew Katoa, email: Andrew.Katoa2@det.nsw.edu.au

Year 9

Mr Geoffrey Muir, email: Geoffrey.Muir1@det.nsw.edu.au

Year 10   

Mr Paul Johnson, email: Paul.Johnson48@det.nsw.edu.au

Year 11  

Miss Victoria Parker, email: Victoria.Parker9@det.nsw.edu.au

Year 12   

Mr Jamie Watts, email: Jamie.Watts@det.nsw.edu.au




School Administration Manager: Mrs Joanne Coyne (rel.)

Attendance Officer: Mrs Samantha Harris

Community Liaison Officer: Mrs Karen Masters

Technical Support Officer: Mr Stuart McLellan

Business Manager: Ms Anne Jones